Emily Gets New Neighbors and Saves the Day – Chapter 3

In Chapter 1, Emily Thomas got new neighbors, but no one ever saw them, even though she and her mother tried to visit them a couple of times. Emily could tell a little girl lived there, because she saw a girl’s bedroom furniture being moved in. But how could Emily ever meet her?

(To read all of chapter 1, click on: http://bit.ly/1zNgjmL) 

In Chapter 2, Emily Thomas wrote a note on a sheet of paper and taped it in her bedroom window facing the new girl’s bedroom. After a few days, a girl’s round face looked out the window and smiled. She wrote her name on a note too, “Megan.”  And they both had pet kittens! 

One night, Emily’s kitten woke her up with a loud “Meeooooooooww!” and Emily discovered that her new friend’s kitten was hanging by his collar on the fence between their houses. Oh no!!!

(To read all of chapter 2, click on http://bit.ly/1yxZ6sj )

 

I squeezed my eyes shut and bowed my head, “Dear Jesus,” I prayed, “please show me what to do!”

Emily under the covers

 

Then I saw the flashlight by my bed. I had been reading a book under the covers before I went to sleep last night, and had laid it on the floor when I got sleepy.

 

Quickly I grabbed it and turned it on.I pointed it out my window and over to Megan’s window. I moved it around and around so that it shown into her room.

Nothing happened.

Then I showed it down on her poor kitty. His eyes were closed, but I could see that he had the claws of one paw hooked over the top of the gate. At least he wasn’t getting strangled!

I flashed the light into Megan’s window again and made it go in crazy circles.

“C’mon, Megan. Wake up!” I whispered.

But nothing moved in her bedroom.

I bit my lip and looked around my room. Then I saw the bowl of beads on my table and got an idea. I had been making a key chain for my daddy’s birthday the day before. It had green beads in a row, then white ones spelling out…I-(heart)-MY-DAD.

Beads.bowl          I grabbed up the bowl and went back to the window. Slowly I unlocked the latch and slid the window open. I pulled the little clasps that held in the screen and watched it fall down to the patio. It landed on my scooter and bounced sideways.

          Oh, no! Was I going to get into trouble? My dad would have to get a ladder to put it back on. I winced, but then I looked at the little white cat again. I’d have to take my punishment in the morning. For now, I had to do something before – I didn’t even know his name – before Megan’s cat died!

I took a round bead from the bag and threw it at Megan’s bedroom window.

I was way off and it “thunked” against the side of the house and fell silently down to the grass.

I tried another one, and missed again.

This time I threw two at once. One hit her window with a tiny “clink”.

I threw two more, and they both “clinked” on her window.

I set the flashlight on my windowsill so it showed into her room, and prayed, “Please, dear Jesus, help Megan wake up!” Then I threw a handful of beads.

“Clink, plink, tink, ponk, and clatter,” they went.

And her bedroom light came on!!

I threw the last handful of beads and waited.

After a minute her curtains were pulled aside and a very sleepy Megan looked out. She rubbed her eyes and blinked them open.

“Look down there!” I said in a shouted whisper. I pointed the flashlight down at her poor kitty hanging on their gate.

Megan finally looked down and saw her cat. I could hear her scream even though her window was closed. The curtains fell shut and in a minute the lights in another room came on. Then the light downstairs. And at last, the back porch light.

Megan’s Dad and Mom came running around the corner of the house to the gate. Her Dad quickly lifted up the furry white cat and unhooked his collar. He looked him over with a worried frown.

Then I saw him smile and hand him to Megan who was barefoot and in her Mom’s arms. She hugged him close and buried her face into his fur.

frosti   “Frosty! Oh, Frosty! You’re okay! I’m so glad you’re okay!”

So that was his name. Frosty. I smiled. He did look like a snowball.

Then Megan looked up at me and smiled back. She pointed up and her parents looked up too. They opened their eyes wide to see me leaning out of my window. But soon Megan told them how I woke her up with the flashlight and by throwing something against her window.

Megan’s Dad bent down and picked up a couple beads. Then he said, “Thank you! You saved our cat’s life. Megan will bring back all your beads later.”

I nodded. I didn’t care so much about my beads. I was just happy Frosty was safe.

They went back into their house and I slid my window shut. I picked up Popsicle and crawled back into my bed.

Popsicle snuggled under the covers with me and purred. She purred louder than I’ve ever heard her purr. I petted her and tickled her in all her favorite spots.

“You’re a hero, Popsicle!” I whispered. She closed her eyes and kneaded my pillow with her paws, purring like a motor boat.

I was sure glad I listened to all her carrying on. I was glad that Frosty is safe.

“Thank You, Jesus, for helping me and for saving Frosty,” I whispered and closed my eyes.

Later that morning, not only Megan, but also her parents came over to our house (after we were all up and dressed and had eaten our breakfast). Her Dad was carrying her and when he put her down, Megan handed me a bag with all my beads in it.

“Look inside,” she said shyly.

I looked among the loose beads and saw that she had made a friendship bracelet with some of her own beads. She had made it out of pink and blue round beads, and had spelled out F-R-I-E-N-D-S with white square beads. On each side of the word were two more square beads with cats on them.

I tried it on and it fit perfectly. “I love it! Thank you!” I said and hugged her.

“And we thank YOU,” said her Mom. “Frosty is very important to our Megan now that–.” She reached down and gave her daughter’s shoulder a little hug.

That was when I noticed something different about Megan. Peeking out from under her long green striped pants were some metal braces. She was also wearing some heavy brown shoes hooked to the braces.

“We thought it was about time we introduced ourselves,” said Megan’s Dad. “I’m David Coleman, and this is my wife, Rachel.” He held out his hand for Dad to shake. “I think your daughter already knows Megan.”

We smiled at each other and nodded. We knew each other by our window signs and our cats. But I hadn’t known about her braces. Was that why she didn’t play outside or ride a bike? I tried not to stare at them, but Megan saw me and smiled.

“I was in an accident,” she said softly. “It hurt my back and afterward my legs wouldn’t work. But now with these braces I can even run a little!”

It was quiet all around. Then Dad cleared his throat and introduced himself and Mom and Danny. Everybody shook hands again.

Mrs. Coleman held out a foil wrapped plate. “I hope you like Macaroons. They are our favorite sweets.”

???????????????????????????????????????????????????          I wasn’t sure what Macaroons were, but they smelled good, all warm and buttery and sugary.

“I’ll try them,” said Danny, who reached for the plate.

“Can you stay for some coffee?” Mom asked. “And hot chocolate?” she added and looked at Danny and me and Megan.

We all nodded and smiled. I took Megan’s hand and we headed to the kitchen. Popsicle came too, and rubbed against Megan’s legs. She reached down to pet her.

As we ate the yummy Macaroon cookies, I told how Popsicle was the real hero of the morning.  When I got to the part about pushing the window screen out, I peeked sideways at Dad. He made a pretend frown with his eyebrows, but I could tell he wasn’t really angry.

My parents and Megan’s parents talked for a while over more coffee.

“We discovered something strange about our new house,” said Mrs. Coleman.

“Yes, we wondered why we weren’t getting some deliveries. Everything in our house works fine, but the doorbell! For some reason it was disconnected!” added Mr. Coleman.

Doorbell

We all looked at each other and laughed. Then Mom told them about all our visits with no answers.

“Oh, dear!” said Mrs. Coleman. “Well, it’s fixed now. Please come over and visit any time!”

Mom promised her we would, and then Dad invited them to church the next day. They said they would be happy to and started talking about their church in Michigan.

Danny went to his friend’s house down the street and Megan and I went up to my room to play. It was slow going up the stairs, but she said she didn’t mind if I didn’t mind. I didn’t. I was so glad to have a new neighbor and a new friend.

Later, after they went home and Dad was getting out the ladder, he said cheerfully,

“Putting a window screen back up is a small price to pay for saving a cat’s life and for getting to meet our new neighbors.”

“Now hand me that screen, Emily,” he said with a wink. “It doesn’t look like it’s damaged at all.”

The End

Leave a Reply

