The Great Battle

by Matthew Aaron L.

Chapter One

It all started when Steve offered land to the Zombie King. The king said he didn’t need the land. Then diamonds were found on the land, When the Zombie King heard about this, he changed his mind. But when he told Steve, Steve said it was too late.

And now, here we are fighting zombie hordes….

 

Right, I forgot to introduce myself. My name is Emac. I and my friends, Steve and Alex have been fighting zombie hordes for the last month to protect our village.

Uh-oh, the alarms are going off!  Talk to you later.

Chapter Two

I didn’t write anymore yesterday because when I got home, I was too tired. Anyway, I’ll tell you how it went.  When we got to where the zombies were, they were breaking down the wall.

“We have to attack them from behind!” said Steve.

“We need to get to the East Gate,” said Alex.

“Then, what are we waiting for?” I said.

We snuck up behind them. We were about to attack when one of them turned around and saw us and yelled at the others to attack us.

We sprang into action.

Zombies cut in half! Chopping their heads off!

Then one of them hit me on the back with a shovel. I yelped in pain as he grabbed and started to drag me away. All of a sudden, he dropped dead with an arrow sticking out of his head. I looked up and saw Alex holding her bow. She put away her bow and gave me a healing potion.

“Drink this,” she said.  Then we went home to rest.

Chapter Three

Last night I woke up to a loud knock at the door. It was Steve.

“Alex and I were out patrolling together,” he said, “and Alex thought she heard something. She went to investigate. Then all of a sudden, five zombies came out of the darkness and grabbed her and started dragging her away.  I tried to stop them, but they were too strong for me.”

“Why don’t you step inside while I get geared up,” I said.

The sun was up by the time we were leaving. It was mid-day by the time we reached the Zombie King’s cave. Surprisingly, we didn’t run into any hostile mobs.

“Why don’t we stop and eat, then we can find Alex,” I said. So we stopped and ate some chicken and bread. Then we entered the cave.

As soon as we entered the cave, there were three zombies running at us! So we killed them. Then we snuck into the cave that they came from.  I noticed something on the ground.  I picked it up and looked at it, and realized it was Alex’s sword mote.  I showed it to Steve.

“Alex has got to be around here somewhere!” he said.

“Then what are we waiting for?”  I said.

Then we took off down the cave. We were two zombie killing machines. Every time one of us saw a zombie, we killed it.

We finally got to the end of the cave, and we both nearly fell into a huge cavern full of zombies. On the far side of the cavern, there was a small cage over a fire. I squinted to see what was in it.

“OH, MY GOSH!  Alex is in that cage over the fire!” I said.

“Then we have to put out the fire!” said Steve….

Chapter Four

“I have a bucket of water here, so what’s the plan?” I asked.

“Well, first we have to get to the fire, then we can put it out, ” said Steve.

“Do you still have that enchanted bow?” I asked.

“Well, yeah. But why?” said Steve.

“Because I am going to need it,” I said.

I took the bow and aimed it at the Zombie King’s head. Then I let my arrow fly. He screamed in pain as he burst into flames.

Then I threw my bucket of water at the fire under the cage and put it out. Steve and I jumped down and fought our way to Alex and killed every single one of the zombies.  We were both in a rage!

We finally got to Alex and I cut the rope holding the cage.

“Steve, come help me get her out of this cage. She’s unconscious,” I said.  With a bit of tugging we finally got her out.

“We need to get out of here before any more monsters find us,” said Steve.

“Wait! Alex is waking up,” I said.

“Good!” said Steve.

“What… happened?” asked Alex.

“No time to explain. We need to go,” said Steve.

By the time we reached the end of the cave, it was night fall.

“Oh, no!” I said.  “It’s a blood moon….”

Chapter Five

We ran as fast as we could back toward the village, but we couldn’t make it.

“We’re going to have to fight,” said Alex. So we fought for a bit. But they just kept coming.

“Emac, do you have my mycelium?” asked Steve.

“Yeah, but why?” I said.

“Because I have bone meal and a mushroom,” he said.

“And I have stuff to make beds,” chimed in Alex.

So we made a mushroom shelter and crafted some beds.  We went to bed, and when we woke up, there were creepers everywhere.

“The village is close. We can make it,” said Alex.

“I have some potions of swiftness,” I said. And so we drank the potions of swiftness and ran toward the village. Then the potions started to wear off and the creepers started catching up.

“We need to go faster!” said Alex.

We finally got the creepers off our tail and got to the village just to find…. no one was there!

“Let me see, I said. “Where would I go if I were afraid of zombies….  I’ve got it!  The underground hideout!”

When we got there, there the villagers were.

Then we told them that we had killed the Zombie King, so they put on a banquet in honor of us.

The End

***

“My name is Matthew and I am 11 years old. I like to play Minecraft, which is what inspired me to write this story.  I live in Malawi.”

Matthew’s’ story is the THIRD in a series of stories I will be posting in the next several weeks. These are the results of a writing challenge after a 2-day Workshop on Writing that I taught to 3rd-7th grade home schooled kids in Malawi. These stories, written with ultimate confidence and joy, are “first drafts” (from scratch), written in only a few days time! 

Matthew’s suspenseful, action-adventure story again follows the story structure that I taught in the Workshops. A hero has a serious problem, faces lots of obstacles that get in the way of him solving it; a climax, and a satisfying ending. These kids did an amazing job!  I am really impressed.

I know Matthew would really appreciate a comment or word of encouragement from you!  Thanks!

5 thoughts on “The Great Battle

  1. Your story was just like watching a movie. Lots of action and saving the damsel in distress as well as the entire village. Keep up the great story telling.

  2. Matthew, you are a natural-born storyteller! Your writing is very vivid, and this action tale was well structured, with cliffhangers at the end of chapters, too! I hope you will continue to write, as you clearly have a gift for it.

  3. Exciting story, Matthew! What I liked the most was how in the very beginning you introduced us to your hero! Excellent way to draw the reader right into your story. Keep writing, you have great imagination and I also liked your ending with the banquet.

  4. Thanks for the feedback and encouragement! Matthew wants you to know that he is working on a new story already 😁 –Matthew’s Mom

Leave a Reply

